Too inspired to sleep

27 Jun

I’m going home tomorrow for a week. It’s a 3 hour bus ride and the perfect opportunity to start on a new project.

That’s why it’s 2 am and I’m sitting here, thinking what kind of socks I want to knit tomorrow on the bus.

I bought some yarn recently simply because it was cheap and a shade of green I like, thinking it would be ok for socks (it’s called Silky Tweed and it’s a blend of silk, merino wool, cotton and viscose). So that’s coming with me tomorrow.
I’m also bringing with me a sock yarn that’s been waiting for my attention for months now, one fingerless glove that needs a friend and too shawl patterns and yarns for them.

Those should keep me occupied for a week. I also have a dozen books I would like to read 😀 Yeah there’s no way I will have time for everything I want to do.

I’ve been watching Gilmore Girls again lately, and knitting projects seem to be for me what books are for Rory: I have to bring many because I can never know in advance what I’ll be in the mood for.

Anyway, I only got out of bed to quickly choose a sock pattern from my Raverly queue. Something that would fit the new yarn. Turns out it’s too heavy for all of those patterns, so now I’m leafing through my Knitter’s handbook, *designing* my own pattern. That’s the most logical answer to my problem of course.

Lately the weather’s been really nice and hot, but while I enjoy the sun and the warmth, I don’t enjoy not being able to fall asleep because of it. Well, it’s given me a lot of time to think. About knitting. Yeah. I have a few shawls on my mind. Plus I want to knit gloves for two people. I also have a a lot of yarn (I forget the name) that I think would make a great blanket if only I got around to it. And there’s this idea for a top I want to try out (a simple top with a pattern, which would shape the garment, running down the sides).  And every night right before I fall asleep I’m dead certain I’m not going to remember what I’ve planned the night before, and it worries me and I want to get up and write it down, but I always fall asleep before I can gather the strength 😀

Oh, here are a couple of quick pics of my finished bolero. Specs in the previous post.

Front of bolero

Front of bolero

It fits ok, even if it fits me a bit differently than other people’s similar boleros fit them.

Back

Back

I like the back especially.

I should really try to sleep now… I have to get up in five hours.

No, make that 4 hours and 30 minutes.

One Response to “Too inspired to sleep”

  1. mkaston July 12, 2009 at 20:47 #

    I LOVE this pattern and I think you did a great job on it!!! Would you have any idea how I could get a copy of the pattern? I am on ravelry as mkaston if you would like to respond there.

    thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

