The Stash Grows (plus a couple of FO’s!)

26 Oct

Lemme just say:

aitintuliaisetYay for mom!

She brought me two skeins of lace weight merino wool from her trip to southern Finland. She asked me what colors I would prefer and I was going to go with green and black, but then I realized green and black are all I ever knit… It wouldn’t hurt me to have accessories in different colors. That’s what I’m probably going to make these into: beautiful lace shawls. I’m going to take my time choosing the patterns.

Meanwhile I went shopping for yarn with my brother who just finished his first pair of mittens and now wants to knit gloves and a Bactus scarf (how cool is that?!), and while in our LYS, I too had to pick up a skein of yarn

kera

I first mistook it to be Noro yarn, but on closer inspection it turned out to be a new yarn by Sandnes Garn: Mini Palett (100 g = 420 m). I especially loved this colorway and another one in shades of gray. Oh man, I’m so happy about this yarn! I kind of like Noro yarns but not enough to spend that much on a single skein (the prices I’ve seen have been around 17 € per skein). Besides the Noro colorways are too much for me. This yarn in my opinion was cheap in comparison (9,90€) and the colors more subtle.

Underneath the skein you can see a Show-Off Stranded Sock I knitted yesterday. Knitting it I learned a new way to make a heel and so far it’s my favorite of them all, but I’ll post more about it once I actually finish a pair.

In addition to these beautiful yarns, there are more happy news from my knitting world. I don’t know if I mentioned it before but a week ago or so I finished a pair of fingerless gloves that have been haunting me for months.

Picture 003

Pattern: 7 veljestä Jättiraita -sormikkaat

Published in: Novita, Nuorisoextra 2006

Yarn: 7 veljestä by Novita

I promised my boyfriend’s dad I would knit him a pair waaay back in July. I don’t know why it took me so long. These are your basic gloves and the pattern wasn’t difficult. The knitting was quick because of the worsted weight yarn and 4 mm needles. I guess I was just so worried about him not liking them that on some level I didn’t want to knit them at all. Well, a promise is a promise, and so I knitted them. Turns out my bf’s dad likes them and they are just what he had hoped for (he asked for the extra long cuff and the thick fabric). Phew! That’s a huge weight off my shoulders.

Even though making these gloves proved I’m not over my issues with knitting gifts, I did manage to knit one gift last week that didn’t cause me any stress at all: the double layered hat I mentioned in passing in an earlier post.

jannen_medium

jannen2_mediumPattern: Double Layer Sockyarn Hat

Yarn: Lanett by Sandnes Garn

For some reason the idea of a double layered hat is very appealing to me. When my brother commissioned a simple black hat, I suggested this pattern to him, and he okayed it. I used needles sized 3,25 mm and I really like the look and feel of the fabric. The yarn is soft and doesn’t itch. All in all, it came out perfect… Well. There’s one beauty flaw: it doesn’t completely cover my brother’s ears. But he still seemed to like it, so I guess it’s ok. Maybe I’ll get to knit another hat for him if it turns out this one isn’t warm enough 🙂

Oh, btw, about the second picture: I have blonde hair and bad eye sight. So when I take pictures of finished objects, I almost always end up with pictures of my hairs. So no, I don’t have a cat or a dog: the hairs in the pictures are mine, embedded in the knitted fabric as I knit. I try to pull them out, but some always remain and I can only see them in the pictures… Maybe I need new glasses.

That’s it for tonight! I have a headache and I can’t sleep (a nice combination) so I decided to post… But posting always takes me longer than I intended and now it’s 2 am which means I’ll have to get up in 6 hours. Oh, man… Today was the last day of my autumn break, but it doesn’t feel like I’ve been on vacation because I spent most of it worrying about studying and not doing anything about it. Still I did get to relax and knit a lot, and spend some quality time with friends and family, and shouldn’t feel tired at all, so maybe I’ll feel better once I get back into studying and on top of my schedule next week.

Right now I have a lot of projects I’m excited about 🙂 I can’t wait for tomorrow afternoon when I can get back to them after classes.

Leave a Reply

