Center Pull Balls, Shawls, a Cardigan and Cable Needles

20 Apr

Evilla A-52

I learned a new trick! It’s a center pull ball, made by winding yarn around an empty toilet paper roll. Before I saw a tutorial for this (which I cannot now find again, but it was basically the same as this one) I never believed in center pull balls… I’ve never had any problems with my yarn balls rolling around when I knit even though I’ve always knitted every ball starting from the outside. I simply never understood what the big deal was.

But then I saw Evilla artyarns winded in a kind of disc so the changing colours show beautifully. While searching for ways to achieve this, I learned about this method of winding yarn. And the result is just so elegant. A beautiful disc of yarn that sits still on the table while I knit. The yarn runs without snags from it, and it’s all just so neat.

Evilla A-46 Panache

As I mentioned in an earlier post, my bf gave me three skeins of Evilla yarn as a birthday gift. I’ve had a hard time deciding which shawls I want to knit the most. There are so many pretty ones. Lucky the search options in Ravelry are so well thought-out.

It’s nice that I have three different colors and don’t therefore have to choose just one shawl pattern, but at the same time that adds the trouble of choosing which color to knit first and which colors and patterns fit together the best.

I would like to knit a Haruni. Someone had knitted a Haruni with Evilla artyarn and it was beautiful… but on the other hand I have a skein of Elegant by teetee (a lace weight yarn) that I’ve been reserving for a Haruni. And I usually don’t like knitting anything twice.

At some point I got tired of browsing through all the patterns and just chose one of the shawls I’ve been meaning to knit at some point anyway: Panache.

When I started knitting the shawl, I was at first a bit worried because there are no charts in the pattern. I’m used to charts. They make sense to me. I like being able to actually see what the lace pattern is supposed to look like as I knit along.

I’ve tried knitting a shawl once without charts and it didn’t turn out right. This time I was surprised to discover the pattern is well written and easy to follow, and in some ways the work seems to go faster… Maybe it’s easier to memorize what has to be done on each row when the pattern gives verbal instructions, instead of the knitter having to first find the correct row on the chart, then interpret the symbols on it and so on.

We’ll see how it turns out. It’ll be pretty, no doubt, but I think the color changes don’t emphasize the lace pattern in the best possible manner (or vice versa).

But it’s never a good idea to judge a project before it’s been blocked 🙂

This post is all over the place, but oh well, here’s a couple more thing:

Cables

I’m also knitting a cable trim cardigan called Cari and oh boy, the new KnitPro cable needle (part of a set of three, which was part of the b-day gift from bf) has made the job much easier. I try to do entirely without cable needles, but when I have more than two stitches waiting to be crossed, I find it reassuring to use a cable needle. Sometimes I use a double-pointed needle, but those can be too long, or a cable needle with a bend in it, which I just find clumsy. So far I’ve found nothing wrong with the KnitPro one. I lerv it a lot.

Leave a Reply

