Multnomah

23 Sep

Look! It’s another one of the projects I made during my blogging hiatus.

Multnomah

Pattern: Multnomah

Published in Hello Knitty

Yarn: Evilla Artyarn 8/2, colorway A-86

Yarn: Some unidentified Estonian wool

Needles: 4 mm

* * * * *

I knitted it at a time when I had decided I have too much yarn and that I need to knit at least some of it before I buy any more (this has since passed despite my complete failure to stick to my yarn diet).

I went for the stripes because I thought I might not have enough of either one of the yarns to knit this shawl with one color. This turned out to be completely false, which led me to still having a little bit of these two yarns in my stash despite trying my very best to use them all up. I also liked the contrast between the two yarns. I’m a big fan of dark greens and browns and these are very prominent in my wardrobe, so I figured what the heck.

Pretty

The neat thing about knitting the feather and fan border in Multnomah with two yarns is that one yarn will form the ridges and the other the stockinette in between the ridges. I had no idea this would happen, but I’m happy it did.

Unfortunately, though, knitting with two yarns also makes for a non-stretchy edges, which feel uncomfortable when the shawl is worn around the neck like a scarf. One day I will learn to carry the yarns in striped knitting so that this doesn’t happen.

The pattern was wonderful, though. I love how the garter stitch starts to undulate a little even before the feather and fan border is begun. The little wing tips are also cute.

Leave a Reply

