Next up: another Revontuli

24 Sep

Last summer (so a couple of months ago – not a year ago) an aunt of mine asked me to knit her a shawl. She saw the Revontuli I knitted for mom (picture below) and liked it.

I was given free hands; the only specifications were that it shouldn’t itch. So there went the first idea I had, which was to knit as exact a replica of mom’s shawl as I could (except, you know, for the colors). The yarn in mom’s shawl is pure wool and while it feels nice and soft to me, that’s not the case for everyone.

The least itchy, softest yarn in my stash was Baby alpaca from BC Garn. The skein was so soft, it’s hard to believe it. After getting the go from the recipient, I decided to use this yarn.

Then came the time to choose a pattern, and that’s when I hit a wall (which is why it’s been months since my aunt asked for this and I haven’t made any headway yet).

First I was set on knitting another Revontuli. I’ve previously made two, so it should be easy to make a third. Since I was given free hands with everything, it would be the easiest choise to just knit something similar to what sparked an interest in a shawl in the first place.

But I wasn’t big on the solid Revontuli shawls I saw, mainly because of the solid Revontuli pictured on the pattern’s page over at Ulla. That’s probably a gorgeous shawl, but in that particular picture it just looks a little limp in comparison to the other shawls on that page.

I spent a long while looking at shawl patterns on Ravelry, but nothing felt appropriate.

mmmm, baby alpaca

Often the shawls I saw had a plain triangle in the middle and some lace as borders, which is fine, but not what I want now. Some have one lace pattern that repeats all the way through, and for some reason these are the shawls I identify with grannies the most. Again, nothing wrong with them (the shawls… or grannies, for that matter), and I would knit and wear one with joy, but I don’t want to knit something I associate with a stereotypical image of elderly people for my aunt. And since I was given free hands, I’m using specifications that are important to me. Maybe it doesn’t make much sense, but it is what it is.

I always came back to the Revontuli. I started thinking maybe the Revontuli I made for mom is so lovely not because of the colors, but because of the sheer size of the thing. It’s the biggest, softest shawl I ever knitted, and it feels like a soft, warm hug. The round shape helps too, as in my experience, round(ish) shawls stay put better than triangle-shaped shawls.

Besides, I already had permission to knit with just one color, so maybe it wouldn’t be a problem if the shawl was a little bit plain. And then I started seeing all these beautiful solid Revontuli shawls on Ravelry. I particularly loved this solid Revontuli (Ravelry link). It’s classy and beautiful and everything I want this shawl to be.

Finally I bought another skein of the Baby alpaca for a total of 200 grams (and I found another skein from the same dye patch as the first one despite buying them months apart… I couldn’t believe my luck). While winding it to a ball, I realized just how luxurious the yarn feels. It’s amazing. That sealed the deal. A shawl doesn’t have to be complicated or intricate to be fabulous. The Revontuli might just be the perfect thing for this yarn.

Besides, if it’s too dull or doesn’t work out, I can always rip back.

Leave a Reply

