Ha! I see what you did there!

25 Sep

I love when I see a pattern that looks really complicated and scary, and then I start to knit it only to find out the complexity is a lie (and in that way very similar to the cake).

It’s a trick! And for some reason it is usually, in my experience, based on a few slipped stitches or something equally simple. Apparently my mind cannot quite comprehend slipped stitches.

Patterns like that are nice because I get the thrill of taking on something difficult without having to do battle with impossible instructions or a stitch pattern I might be able to memorize but only after about a hundred repeats.

And yes, this does mean that today I started another project… Luckily all the projects I’m working on are ones I love to bits, so there’s really no chance of some/all of these WIPs ending up in the back of my closet, where my projects go to hibernate. Really, probably no chance at all…

Here is the reasoning that led me to beginning that Mesi hat (it’s the same link as above).

It started earlier today when I got trapped in that dreadful moment, where you wander into a yarn store, and for one reason or another end up feeling like you just have to buy something, anything, before you can leave. 

In this case I started feeling like I would be suspected of shoplifting if I didn’t buy something. It wasn’t anything the nice lady at the shop did or said, but sometimes this thought just pops into my head.

And no, I was not shoplifting. I was, however, a poor student left all by herself with all the fancy yarn. See, I do the profiling on behalf of the shop owner and save them the bother. Poor woman, she was probably just trying not to hover over my shoulder, and there I was,  suspecting her of suspecting me.

It’s similar to feeling like you’re doing something wrong when a police car drives by despite being a good citizen as always, and despite wearing a bicycle helmet and everything!

Well anyway, that’s how I ended up with two skeins of Regia Silk from Schachenmayr nomotta, which was not was I was expecting to buy on that trip, if anything. The yarn is a blend of merino, polyamid and silk. Yummy. It’s very soft and has a nice sheen. And to justify buying this yarn, I had to start knitting with it right away.

If I didn’t, there was a danger of it entering, in my opinion, the saddest state a yarn can be in: ignored and over-looked just because the knitter feels guilty about buying it in the first place. That’s not the yarn’s fault! It was just sitting there, quietly minding its own business, when the knitter came by and grasped it in their greedy paws….

Besides, what’s the harm in starting another project. These days I’m in total control of my hibernating projects… because I recently ripped back all of them. I can whole-heartedly recommend doing this. It was such a relief.

When I used to look at the half-finished socks (for me, the biggest risk groups for hibernation are socks and scarfs), all I saw was responsibility. Now all the yarn trapped in that prison of disappointment is back to its purest form: it’s just yarn. Stephanie Pearl-McPhee writes in Knitting rules! that the reason knitters love yarn so much is that it’s pure potential.

I agree.

Also, it’s soft. I like soft.

mmmm... soft.

2 Responses to “Ha! I see what you did there!”

  1. woolandchocolate September 25, 2010 at 02:40 #

    Oooh, it’s beautiful! I recently ripped out some of my lost causes, too. Nothing like cleaning the slate. Then, I promptly cast on three more (on top of the four I didn’t rip) and I am almost back to where I was, but I like these better. 🙂

  2. bamboo#1 September 25, 2010 at 11:22 #

    Haha 😀 Yeah, that’s happened to me, too. But it’s true, it’s not the number of projects on the needles that matters, it’s what they feel like. 🙂

Leave a Reply

