Clapotis: it just keeps on going

2 Oct

I’ve been knitting my Clapotis for 2,5 months now. Not all the time, of course, but still. I’ve just kept slogging on, and it felt like there was no end in sight – until now.

After 27 repeats of the straight rows (instead of 12 repeats like the pattern instructed), I now only have 40 grams of the original 200 grams left. I’m using 2 skeins of Araucania Ranco Multy in colorway 335.

I’ve guesstimated 1 cm of the scarf weighs around 1 gram, and so I’m going to start the decrease rows when I have around 20 grams of the yarn left. The decrease part is 24 cm long (ie. weighs ~24 g), and since the decreases form a triangle that will complete the rectangle shape of the scarf/shawl, I figure dividing that 24 g by two should give me the weight of that triangle. I’ll save 20 grams for it to be on the safe side. It’s going to be a close call, but I really want to use up as much of this yarn as possible.

At some point I started feeling like I’d never want to knit stockinette stitch after finishing this scarf. But really it wasn’t the stockinette that made this project go on forever: it was the combination of stockinette stitch, which usually requires no concentration, and the need to actually concentrate so I remembered to drop and twist and decrease and increase and what have you.

But usually I don’t mind concentrating. And stockinette in itself is actually pretty enjoyable. A little bit of mindless knitting is nice every once in a while. In the end it had nothing to do with this pattern and everything to do with some sort of attitude problem on my part. So that’s ok now.

Well anyway. I think this scarf is totally going to be worth the trouble. We’ll see for sure after the last few centimeters 🙂

Leave a Reply

