Arctic bramble

11 Oct

Last month I tricked myself into buying two skeins of the loveliest silk and wool blend, and was going to start knitting a hat with the yarn right away (you know, to justify buying it).

It just so happened that a friend of mine was throwing a birthday party that weekend. I didn’t have anything to give to her, and I couldn’t buy anything since I had already splurged on yarn earlier that week… Well, what could’ve been a better solution than knitting this for her.

You know, apart from the fact that I had and still have no way of knowing if these colors are to her liking, or if she liked the fit of the hat, and so on. I’m always hesitant about knitting something like this for people without their consent on the colors and the shape and fit because pretty much everyone is understandably picky about their hats.

I did think while knitting this that she wouldn’t abhor it, and I even kind of believed that she might even like it a little, maybe. And since it was going to be something I knitted or nothing, I opted for the knitted thing, in hopes of showing her I had thought of her.

I only knit for people I consider knit-worthy, and I wouldn’t mind if someone gave away or didn’t use something I knitted for them. The recipient of a gift has no obligation to like or use the gift (knitted or not) as far as I’m concerned. I can only hope that my gift (if not forever cherished, haha) at least didn’t seem inconsiderate or stoopid.

Pattern: Mesi

Yarn: Regia Silk 6-fädig (50 g = 124 m) from Schachenmayr nomotta, 2 skeins

Needles: 4 mm

*****

I only had Friday evening and the next morning before the party to complete the hat, so the pictures I have are pretty hurried. When I give something knitted to someone I usually include a little note saying what materials were used and instructions on washing, but this time I didn’t have time for that either. I’m hoping it won’t matter, since this yarn is machine washable.

The pattern itself was one of the best hat patterns I’ve used.  I loved knitting the honeycomb stitch pattern. It seems complicated when finished, but it’s really simple to do once you realize you only have to knit with one color at a time. The yarn I think is amazing for a hat. It’s wool, so it’s warm, and the silk makes it soft and non-itchy. It also has a nice sheen which works well with the honeycomb pattern.

I’m calling the hat Arctic bramble, which is a sort of plant. It’s called ‘mesimarja’ in Finnish, a word which happens to include the name of the pattern and the name of the pal I knitted it for. Yes, very amusing, and not far-fetched at all. Har de har har.

Well anyway, this was a nice, quick knit, and I hope the recipient liked it too.

2 Responses to “Arctic bramble”

  1. Auktuma Janus October 11, 2010 at 05:47 #

    hey, before i read your explanation, i thought you’ve called it “arctic”, because it’s extra-warm. it really seems so from the picture. it is a nice hat, pattern is so interesting, i like! 🙂 what was your friend’s reaction?

    • bamboo#1 October 11, 2010 at 13:48 #

      Heh, an alternative explanation 😀 Neat, it does fit.

      My friend smiled and tried the hat on (I think it fit her great) and thanked me, pretty much. If she hated it, she did a god job of hiding it. 😉

Leave a Reply

