I Learned My Lesson – Bring On the Next One

25 Jan

Every knitting project I do teaches me something new about knitting – a fact that is both fulfilling and depressing.

I’m not a perfectionist in the sense that I cannot finish things I know will not be perfect, or that I don’t enjoy doing things when they’re not perfect. But I do like to experience some perfection from time to time.

If every knitting project teaches me something, that pretty much means every knitting project has a fault of some kind, and sometimes that’s kind of a bummer. On the other hand, there’s always the next project – maybe next time everything will go as I would like. Learning in itself is a joy of course, and knitting provides an abundance of small challenges that are easy but rewarding to overcome.

I thought about this business of mistakes and learning a lot while finishing up these mitts in December…

Pattern: Bird & Vine Mitts

Yarn: Nalle from Novita

Needles: 3 mm

*****

I knitted the first one in August. It was a fun knit but I wasn’t pleased with the quality of my color work – wonky stitches and strange problems with lines of smaller stitches running up the mitt (like ladders but in reverse).

I then read about what was probably wrong with my technique in Debbie Stoller’s Stitch ‘n Bitch  Superstar Knitting. When I knitted the second mitt, I took care to keep the contrasting yarn closer to the fabric/to me, and never wrapped the resting yarn in the same place on two consecutive rows. I was amazed at how much better the results were. The difference is most evident in the wrong side of the palms.

The mitt on the left is the first one. Where the white is more prominent, the green stands out too much on the right side of the fabric, creating an uneven look.

I’m so glad I learned this and will be able to knit much better stranded color work from now on… but I wish I hadn’t learned it in between mitts in the same pair. The two are very different so the mistakes in the first mitt bother me more than usually. Usually I can happily overlook all mistakes once I’m finished with the knitting.

My mom loved the mitts, though, so I gave them to her. It just means I have to knit another pair of mitts for myself, and this time, I swear, they will be epic. 🙂

Leave a Reply

