May Cause Dizziness

30 Jan

It’s a sunny, peaceful Sunday afternoon. I’ve been studying and generally being productive, but took a break to weave in the ends in the pair of socks I finished knitting yesterday. I love every detail in these socks, and they seem to be designed for my plump but short legs and feet (seriously, my feet stopped growing length very early on and concentrated on developing girth.)

Pattern: Dizzy (Ravelry link)

Yarn: Sisu from Sandnes Garn

Colorways: 1088 (black), 6755 (blue). 2 balls each

Needles: 2,5 mm & 3 mm

*****

These socks were a great way to start the new knitting year. Stranded knitting is simple but so rewarding, and extra warm, too. Geometric shapes in stranded knitting are especially fun because they’re so logical they eliminate the need to closely follow the charts.

I did make several mistakes, though. I am so pleased with these socks that I surprised myself by actually taking the time to fix those mistakes by duplicate stitching…

Yay, knitting magick. Totally worth it, even if it meant having a billion more ends to weave in. Still, I bet this was less trouble than ripping back every time I noticed I’d made a mistake a couple of rows ago.

It’s difficult to take any kind of sensible pictures of socks while wearing them… unless, I imagine, you happen to be a knitting contortionist.

 

 

Leave a Reply

