Alot of Love

2 Feb

Oh gosh, I’m a huuge huge fan of Hyperbole and a Half, the only blog that makes me seriously laugh out loud with every new post.

One post in particular made me scream-laugh and squeal with delight: The Alot is Better Than You at Everything.

Imagine my happiness when I stumbled upon a pattern for Alot. It was published in Maiya knits. Mayhem ensues.  (I shouldn’t have been surprised. Every critter from a movie or a game or a show (or a blog) I’ve ever wanted to make is available as a pattern.) The design is great and really captures Alot.

After finding the pattern it was but the work of a few months to randomly come across some brown fun fur, and I could get knitting…

Feast your eyes upon Alot. His face is so furry you can’t really see his mouth, but it’s there, and it’s disapproving.

Pattern: Alot of Fun

Yarns: 7 Veljestä and Tango Fani from Novita for the body and claws;

Nalle from Novita for horns and tooth;

Fleur from Anttila for eyes.

*****

I care about this Alot

I learned knitting toys is brilliant. No, you can’t wear them and they’re pretty useless (my main reasons for not knitting a lot of them despite kind of wanting to), but you can hug them! And squeeze them and giggle at them et cetera.  Oh, and it can be really quick, too: it took me two afternoons to finish this guy. He isn’t Alot of work, just Alot of steps.

I was baffled for a minute because suddenly, in the middle of the pattern, I was instructed to crochet the eyes. I now have a few extra practice eyes, that didn’t come out quite right, rolling around on my desk. I should really crochet more. It’s always fun – I’m just intimidated by crochet patterns. They look like they’re written in a foreign language. (And not just because many of the cool ones are in English.) A silly reason, that, but there you go.

See his teensy little mighty claws. I’mma take pictures and post them because I went to the trouble of knitting those little suckers and weaving in all those ends, even though you can’t really see the end result in real life. Alot is fierce, and must have claws.

2 Responses to “Alot of Love”

  1. aprilinautumn February 24, 2011 at 22:07 #

    I love the alot! Now that I know there’s a pattern for him I’m going to have to try it out. I’ve also shied away from knitting toys because of the “uselessness” factor, but this might make me change my mind.

    • bamboo#1 February 27, 2011 at 23:40 #

      Alot is great, isn’t he 🙂 I say, go for it! Knitting him really opened up the world of knitted/crocheted toys for me – because I’m such a fangirl and because the knitting was so fast. Hopefully it can do the same for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

