“I can do more than talk; I can pontificate!”

6 Feb

Crochet patterns often scare me. I don’t yet know how to “read” a crocheted fabric and sometimes don’t know where in the fabric my hook should go. Especially patterns which have me turn the fabric are scary because I always end up with one too many or one too few stitches at the end of each row.

Crocheting in a spiral is much easier, and I was pleased to learn that lots of amigurumi patterns use this technique a lot. My recent success with knitting another toy, Alot, finally gave me the push to sit down, take hook in hand and work out how to crochet the pattern I’ve dreamed of making for the longest: Nibbler.

That was a couple of days ago. Today I’m really really proud to present:

Lord Nibbler.

Pattern: Nibbler

Published in: Hook and Needles

Yarn: Fleur from Anttila (50 g = 130 m, worsted weight, 100 % acrylic)

Amounts: 2 balls black, 1 ball white, beige, yellow, red

Hook: 4 mm (Nibbler), 4,5 mm (clothes)

Brown fiber for needle felted eyes

*****

Nibbler: *sigh* Sometimes I fear we are cute.

Apart from getting to enjoy Nibbler’s unfortunate but undeniable cuteness, I’m also happy about making this project because it gave me so much security in my skills with crochet. I also learned about the possibilities of crochet: the fact that it can be very fast to do, the great possibilities of shaping with the different stitches, the simple joy of ripping back without worrying about picking up stitches again.

I’m no longer intimidated by the sheer number of stitches to learn… I guess I have to remember how to do just as many different things in knitting – what with all the different phases in a knitting project which are absent from a crochet project (casting on, binding off etc). And I really don’t have to remember how to do the different stitches by heart. That’s what the internet is for.

All hesitation is gone, now I can crochet all the cute things!

 

Leave a Reply

