So… Now What?

28 Dec

Giftmas has been and gone. There’s a strange sort of emptiness that comes from suddenly having so much free time. For two months, a significant part of my free time has been used to knit and crochet presents, and now I suddenly have all this time to do something for myself.

Yesterday, I actually sat down and read! (Eoin Colfer’s And Another Thing.) But only after I looked up from this stupor that’s filled my brain, and saw the chaos surrounding me. The SO and I both go to our respective homes for Christmas, so there’s really no need to do a proper Christmas cleaning here. After doing other picking up, I went through the top layer of my stash, which consists of two big baskets of yarn I swear I’m going to use up real soon, any day now.

I came to the conclusion that I really don’t need new yarn. Especially since I was arranging  the stash to make room for the stuff I got with my Giftmas gift certificate to my favorite lys… 11 balls of Drops Alpaca (100% alpaca sport yarn) and two skeins of Drops Lace (YUMMY alpaca and mulberry silk in lace weight).

These are going to be a Zora cardigan and a Whisper cardigan, respectively… some day.

Last years This year’s (I keep thinking we’re already in 2012) challenge was to knit 11 projects, which turned out to not be a challenge at all. The next challenge could be to use or otherwise get rid of as much yarn as I can.

I’m a big believer in the principle that you should never tell anyone about your goals, because talking about doing something makes you feel like you’ve already done something about attaining your goal – even though you haven’t, and now you’re even less likely to do anything about it. (Watch this TED talk called Keep your goals to yourself, it’s eye-opening.) So that’s the last I’ll talk about this idea.

In another attempt to clear my head, I also went through my works in progress intending to either rip back or finish each one. Unfortunately, I think I decided to finish almost every one of them.

There are things that clearly have to be finished, like my Clessidra socks (over half way done),

my Thermal sweater (only missing 1,5 sleeves),

and my Entomology mittens (published in the book Knitalong, so no link, also over half way done). I’m not excited about knitting the other one, but I really want to wear these.

But then there are the more troubling projects. The only reason I haven’t already ripped back these Little Minx socks, is that the yarn does not react well to that. It would be totally ruined and it was a gift from my mom. But I’m also not looking forward to knitting the other sock because, to be honest, this was a bit boring to knit.

The same reason is stopping from ripping back these swan socks. I’ve already ripped back several projects done with this yarn – one more time and I would have to throw away that part of the ball.

I’ve also had a pair of hat heel socks on the needles for well over a year now… Unfortunately, them being hat heel socks and having separated toes, the yarn would come out in short bits.

I’m starting to feel better about ripping back my Space Invader Converti Mittens because I found a Space Invaders hat pattern and that would be even cooler than the mitt(en)s. I could use the yarn for that. And the mitts don’t fit that well, either. I could knit these later with a thicker yarn or otherwise in a bigger size.

And I’m pretty sure I’ll rip back my Wavy Feather’s wimple unless I find a better pair of needles for knitting it. The yarn is unsuitable for the project, as alpaca doesn’t show lace well, so even a more suitable pair of needles might not be enough to save this one.

So, right now I’d be willing to rip back 2 out of 8 works in progress. Well, who knows, maybe I’ll suddenly be inspired to finish these things.

All I know is, it’s definitely time for a clean slate knitting-wise.

Leave a Reply

