Insect Mittens – Nice!

3 Jan

The bug beetle mittens are done (ignorance is bliss – I can no longer call non-bug insects bugs with a good conscience). The pattern is Entomology from the book Knitalong: Celebrating the Tradition of Knitting Together. I used an itty bitty amount (maybe 50 g of each color) of an aran weight yarn (7 veljestä from Novita) and 3 mm needles.

Every time I do stranded knitting, the inside of the work turns out better and neater than the last time. That is way cool.

I’ve had the bamboo double pointed needles I used for these for years now, and I never used them before. I think they were one of the first needles I ever bought when I started knitting in 2007. They’re on the sharp side, which meant a really painful knitting experience at the time.

But now that I no longer have the beginner knitter’s death grip and my gauge has mellowed (the yarn no longer creaks when I knit), these turned out to be awesome needles. I think I only used them because all my other 3 mm needles were in use, but I’m glad I did. At least Prym’s bamboo needles have just the right amount of grip for neat stranded knitting.

Looking at the pictures, I can see that I’ve made some mistakes, but I probably won’t want to fix them (I would duplicate stitch the mistakes away). When I start using these, no one is going to notice one stitch in the wrong place – including me.

5 Responses to “Insect Mittens – Nice!”

  1. Julie January 3, 2012 at 22:48 #

    Those mitts look amazing!! I love colourwork.

    • bamboo#1 January 3, 2012 at 22:52 #

      Thanks! 🙂 Yes, colorwork is great – relatively easy to learn and gives impressive results.

  2. sophiesmy January 4, 2012 at 01:52 #

    My God, I always feel amazed when I look at your work 🙂
    This is a form of art for me!

    Have you thought about selling your work? You would have success 🙂

    *Hugs*
    Sofi

    • bamboo#1 January 4, 2012 at 10:56 #

      Thank you 🙂 I definitely agree, it is an art form.

      I have thought about selling, but the copyright rules or laws mean I could not sell anything that has been designed by someone else than me, unless they’ve specifically given permission to reproduce their design for sale. I would have to come up with my own designs first and I’m not drawn to designing personally. Plus, selling would maybe turn this into work, and I don’t want that. It’s just a treasured hobby. 🙂

      Thanks for commenting! 🙂 *hugs*
      Maaju

      • sophiesmy January 4, 2012 at 17:24 #

        Well, that makes sense! I didn’t know that 😀

        And I agree with you. If you only like to do this as a hobby, the best is to keep things simple and do not complicate them by mixing them with work 🙂

        Keep it up ^.^

Leave a Reply

