I’m Knitworthy Too!

8 Jan

Here’s something a little different: something that was knitted for me instead of by me. I could get used to that! It’s my new favorite sweater, this beautiful tunic my mom knitted for me for Christmas. I know, isn’t it awesome magnificent (I hear “awesome” is banned now)?

This is definitely my favorite knitted item now – I’ve used it every day since Christmas. It is great for layering for a bit of extra warmth while not being too hot to wear inside. That tends to be my problem with knitted tops in general. Also, it’s just so silky soft and non-itchy.

The color is perfect for me 🙂 And it’s the exactly the right size, and the design is quite flattering on me. It almost seems like mom knew exactly what type of clothes I like 🙂 Definitely part of the reason why I am so taken with it is I know how much time and effort mom spent knitting it. The only problem I have with it is that I want to use it all the time but at the same time I want to save it for special occasions so it’ll last longer.

Mom used Fame Rand from Marks & Kattens and this Novita tunic pattern. So far the yarn has held up really well. The pattern calls for a fuzzy mohair and acrylic blend that’s really light and thick at the same time, which can easily create a tent-like appearance especially when used for tunics. I’m so glad mom decided to change the yarn for the pattern as the Fame Rand created a fabric that drapes beautifully and is much more suitable for non-form fitting clothes than the fuzzy mohair.

That’s it folks 🙂 I’m going back to knitting my Thermal sweater now.

2 Responses to “I’m Knitworthy Too!”

  1. sofia January 9, 2012 at 13:52 #

    I love it! It’s gorgeous! 🙂

    • bamboo#1 January 11, 2012 at 09:44 #

      Why thank you 🙂 My mom is a talented knitter!

Leave a Reply

