Thermal Sweater

15 Jan

Churning out the last few inches of the second sleeve on my Thermal sweater (published in the winter 2006 issue of Knitty), it never occurred to me there’s even a possibility that once it’s finished… I wouldn’t like it. But there you have it.

It’s the shoulders. The last decreases at the shoulder are squarish, and those create square baggy things both in the front and back on the shoulders when I wear the sweater. They go away if I pull at the sleeves and the hem, but come back the instant I move.

I ripped back the shoulder seams several times but no matter what technique I use to sew them, it’s a no go. I even entertained the thought of taking scissors to the square bits, but I can see that idea leading to tears.

I complained about this to my mom, and she suggested I rip back and do the decreases again and make them more rounded. See, that is the perfect fix for the problem. Or it would’ve been, had I thought of it before I said let it be, sewed on the sleeves for once and for all, and weaved in all the ends.

It’s even worse in the back. And also the shoulders are noticeably different from each other. Wah.

All the little problems I have with it are just small enough that I don’t want to go to the trouble of fixing them, but they still bug me.

A bad, bad project deserves bad, bad photos, so here you go:

See? You probably don’t, but it’s a great fit, and the sleeves are nice and long, and I really like the shape of the neckline, and the buttons are cute. I even like the yarn I used, and if you’re a yarn snob you might want to avert your eyes: I used Denver (100 % acrylic) from Red Heart. It was pleasurable to work with and the resulting fabric is soft and has nice drape. It’s just the shoulders, grrr.

I suppose I’ll either get used to it or fix it at some point. Whichever, I feel thoroughly meh about this one.

 

 

2 Responses to “Thermal Sweater”

  1. Ella V January 15, 2012 at 19:33 #

    I don’t see it so bad as you think!

    • bamboo#1 January 15, 2012 at 19:48 #

      Thank you 🙂 Mind you, I’ve just tucked at the sleeves when that picture was taken, heh. I should’ve taken a picture of the baggy bits since I was going to complain about them here.

Leave a Reply

