It’s a Bike Mask

17 Jan

Having had my eye on this Ninja Bike Mask of Awesomeness for a while, I was inspired to start knitting it now by some seriously uncool weather we’ve been having. And by uncool I mean cool, and by cool I mean cold.

Isn’t it great? And not freaky at all.

This mask doesn’t look anything like the pattern.

The pattern is fantastic! The construction is just so elegant and beautiful and perfect. It’s just that I didn’t want to knit my dk weight yarn (Lima from Garnstudio, 65% wool, 35% alpaca) with 2,25 mm needles (like the pattern suggests). The resulting gauge was so tight that it really hurt my hands, and I switched to 4 mm instead. 4 mm for no other reason than that I didn’t have 40 cm circs in any other size.

And so, having already doomed myself to not getting anything resembling the original finished object, I began following the pattern very loosely. I’m practically winging it.

I’ll knit a little bit of neck and then bind off. I’ll still be wearing a scarf with it so it might actually be bad if it went all the way down to the shoulders. I’ll probably run some elastic thread through the cast on edge at the top so the mask will  stay put better and maybe even cover my cheekbones. I look at those pictures and I see my cheeks getting cold.

2 Responses to “It’s a Bike Mask”

  1. Sofia Ramos January 27, 2012 at 02:50 #

    It’s awesome and useful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

