Crochet Safety Reflector

28 Jan

Sometimes what comes off my needles or hook just doesn’t quite live up to expectations. I have a clear picture of what I want to achieve in my mind, but the yarn won’t behave and absolutely nothing goes right, like now.

I’ve seen a lot of cute crocheted safety reflectors and have always wanted to make one. First I tried this snowflake pattern that I’ve seen used in several blogs (I especially like these reflecting snowflakes here, so pretty.) But my flake wasn’t… quite right.

A snowflake this is not.

The thread is a kind of sturdy ribbon and pretty hard to work with. I ripped back a couple of times until I finally arrived at this stage. That was my best shot. At first I thought I could live with it… but no. It’s usually best to just rip back or otherwise fix things if it doesn’t work out. I gave up on the whole snowflake idea and tried a couple of flower type designs but I simply could not make the thread sit in neat rows.

Finally I accepted that anything other than a crocheted circle is just too much for me to handle right now. I then discovered that doing every other row in another yarn made the whole thing so much easier to handle. It’s still not perfect but it’s not as bad a mess anymore.

What’s more important, it does work, making me that much safer out there in the dark.

4 Responses to “Crochet Safety Reflector”

  1. hanne January 28, 2012 at 22:56 #

    Hi!
    If it’s any comfort, I really didn’t get my snowflake quite right either at the first time 🙂 I did my snowflake by altering Attic24’s pattern. If you like, I could try to translate my pattern in to english?

    • bamboo#1 January 29, 2012 at 10:35 #

      Itseasiassa oon iteki suomalainen, heh 🙂 Olin jo niin monta kertaa purkanu tuon langan ku huomasin että olit muokannu sitä ohjetta, että se oli jo ihan nuhjaantunutta. Mutta jos jatkossa mulla on lisää tuota samaa lankaa, koitan sillä sinun ohjeella 🙂

      • hanne January 29, 2012 at 14:18 #

        No ei sitte mitään 😀
        Mä vähän skrollailin sun sivuja, mutten löytänyt mistään mainintaa maasta tai kielestä, eikä sun nimestäkään oikein voinut kansallisuutta päätellä…Mutta ihmettelin kyllä, että mistä olisit voinut englannilla päätyä mun sivuille 🙂 Noh, mut joo, totta, toi lanka menee nopeasti huonoksi ja alkaa lopulta katkeileen jos sitä yrittää purkaa.

        • bamboo#1 January 29, 2012 at 16:13 #

          Uu hyvä kun mainitsit, en ollut hoksannut että kansallisuus oli jääny mainitsematta, ja korjasinki nyt asian.

Leave a Reply

