Super Mario Phone Cozy

7 Mar

Like any good knitter, I’m knitting in anticipation of welcoming a new baby to my world: my new phone, a Samsung Galaxy Ace. It’s being baked in the mail as we speak, and should be delivered sometime this week – a girl can dream.

I am honestly excited to get my own pretentious electronic device! So far I’ve been fine with my non-smrt phone that’s ultimately most useful as a paperweight or, I would imagine, a sort of disposable hammer in a pinch. Now I’ll get a phone that I may be able to use for reading knitting patterns, woo-hoo! 🙂 My priorities here reveal me as a knitter, I think.

Anyway, I’m knitting this Super Mario themed cozy for it. A small project, but I learned a new trick. I’ve been knitting it back and forth without turning the work. I may well be doing the backwards knitting all “wrong” but it doesn’t matter over 20 stitches. It may well matter more over longer distances. I’ve also been forced to knit with three strands per row which has gone surprisingly well, promising good things for future stranded colorwork sweaters and other rather more ambitious projects.

I want to knit a lot of cozies for this thing, the next in line could be something Minecraft related, probably a creeper. Maybe. There’s a surprising and disappointing lack of Minecraft patterns or knitting/crochet charts (or at least of ones I’ve been able to find). Oh internet, curse your sudden but inevitable betrayal!

…Mixing geeky references feels like mixing metaphors. Froody 😉

2 Responses to “Super Mario Phone Cozy”

  1. Julie March 7, 2012 at 20:00 #

    That is so clever!! love it.

Leave a Reply

