Locale shawl

2 Apr

Everything went right with this project.

I went home to visit mom a week ago, and only packed along one knitting project, thinking I wouldn’t knit anyway and so wouldn’t finish it. Naturally, given that I was so poorly prepared, I finished my Nevermore cowl the first night there and faced a weekend of no knitting.

I was left with quite a lot of yarn, though, and Ravelry came to rescue. Doing a simple search for the amount of yarn I had and limiting it to free neckwear, I soon rediscovered a shawl I had previously favorited: locale.

I weighed my yarn and found that I had about 180 yards of Trekking Hand Art Flamé from Zitron (the black-purple variagated yarn) and 254 yards of Heritage Solids from Cascade Yarns – just perfect for the shawl that’s been designed to use up leftovers skeins. A happy coincidence! Honestly, if such things actually happened, which they don’t, this would’ve been “meant to be”. Mom loaned me a pair of circulars and I began knitting.

I discovered that I could download the pattern *.pdf on my phone and read it from there, which made it easier than ever before to keep the pattern handy. Not an original discovery, but I’ve only had my smrt phone for such a short time that I still probably don’t use it every way I could. I also found an app for counting rows and pattern repeats. Nice!

I’ve been really stressed and, at least in principle, very busy lately, so a simple stockinette shawl was just perfect for me right now. The square pattern done with slipped stitches and the short row shaping were just interesting enough to keep me going. I finished this quick knit in a few days of watching glimpses of (insane) daytime tv, and it was just the thing to offer moments of relaxation during a very long week.

The largish (4 mm) needles with fingering weight yarn produced a light-weight, airy fabric, that seems to be suitable for the warmer spring weather we’ve been enjoying lately. And since it’s spring and spring brings out the black clothes in my wardrobe (probably because my spring jacket is black), the colors suit me just fine as well.

4 Responses to “Locale shawl”

  1. agujasblog May 12, 2012 at 15:21 #

    I like the combination of the solid with the variegated color. Nice.

    • bamboo#1 May 12, 2012 at 16:30 #

      Thanks! A lot of people on Ravelry had used a solid and a variegated yarn for this project, which is where I got the idea from.

  2. lists February 13, 2013 at 09:10 #

    Your scarf looks great. One question on it–do you end up with all the wraps left on the needle until almost the end of the project, then on the last two rows take care of them?? I’m starting the same scarf and don’t quite understand the short rows.

    • bamboo#1 May 23, 2013 at 09:07 #

      I’m sorry I took so long to reply – you’ve probably already figured it out. It will make a lot more sense when you get to that point.

      The wraps stay on the needles because in short rows you don’t knit all the way to the end of each row, like in regular knitting. Instead you get to a point where you are told to turn and you do just that – turn the work as if you’d gotten to the end of a row, but you do it in the middle of a row and knit your way back.

      The wraps are done to prevent holes in the fabric when you turn: you just wrap the yarn around the next stitch you *would’ve* knitted if you hadn’t turned. Short rows are one of those things where you just have to try it out and when you see it in your hands, it all makes sense. 🙂

Leave a Reply

