Happy Cake Day to Me!

11 Apr

Yay! I’ve now been around for a quarter of a century and it’s been pretty awesome.

To celebrate this momentous occasion, mom knitted and sent me this hat that I *just* got in the mail! I love getting mail. I love getting hand knitted things. Lookee here, at my most excellent new hat!

She made one for herself and promised me one as well, and this is it 🙂 I think she began doing an Ekaterin Slouchy Hat but ended up changing everything but the earflap construction and the cable pattern. I follow patterns to the letter, whereas she’s a fierce knitter and does what she wants! My brother’s approach to knitting is the same. Boatloads of respect to them 🙂 And I got this fabulous hat out of it ^^

Anyway, back to cake day things (i.e. studying).

 

2 Responses to “Happy Cake Day to Me!”

  1. crazy4cables April 12, 2012 at 04:36 #

    Happy Cake Day to you 🙂 Your hat is most excellent lol..greens my favorite color..I just learned to knit 7 months ago..i really like cables..i would love to make a cabled hat like yours but i dont know if im ready..I’m making a blanket right now..a pretty aran cabled one..i like your sence of humor..you made me laugh out loud twice..Once reading your bio here …way to be more positive lol and the second time the way you say cake day it was just cute..thanks for the giggle..Naturally it’s easier for me to notice the negative & it takes work looking on the positive..but it’s worth it..I’m much happier now..I’ll make my own fun if everyones crabby i dont care..I really enjoy knitting or spending time with my horse..uh er i meant to say i love spending time with the hubby and then knitting and spending time with my horse lol…
    carolyne

    • bamboo#1 April 12, 2012 at 13:52 #

      Thanks! 🙂 Oh definitely go for the hat. It’s just knitting – what’s the worst that could happen, right?

      You’re right. It definitely takes an effort, especially at first, to look on the bright side of things. But while it won’t magically solve every problem in life, it can make it easier to deal with things. I know I enjoy life so much more when I stop the negative thoughts.

Leave a Reply

