A Broken Bone, and Broken Plans

19 Jul

Yesterday I learned that I did actually break a bone on Monday when I fell with my bike: it is a teeny tiny fracture in my right elbow. A GP told me I will probably need to hold the elbow stationary for quite a while. Today I saw an orthopedist and got some good news: instead of  holding my elbow immobile for a few weeks it’s actually better if I start using it within the limits of the pain right away.

So knitting, crochet and spinning are back on just as soon as my arm and elbow feel ok enough for them 🙂

But for some reason I don’t much feel like starting any of the projects I had lined up earlier. Partly it’s because I do feel like knitting and spinning might not be the best of ideas right now.

I need to do some sort of craft or something because I’m losing my mind, just sitting and watching TV all day long – I still can’t clean or cook or do anything that requires lifting or putting pressure on my elbow.

So I’m starting to consider maybe trying to learn crochet left-handed. Maybe I could crochet a small granny square blanket or something, something where inconsistencies in the gauge wouldn’t matter that much. That way I can get back to my original plans once my elbow has healed.

I have no idea whether it’s a feasible plan but I’ll find out soon.

2 Responses to “A Broken Bone, and Broken Plans”

  1. bapsi July 31, 2012 at 18:45 #

    oh geez, i just came across this post, realizing that it was a quite some time after you wrote it. i hope you’re having a better time with your elbow fracture, and that maybe you have a little granny blanket to show!

    • bamboo#1 August 8, 2012 at 11:34 #

      Thank you for commenting! 🙂 The arm is so much better than in the beginning (it’s pretty incredible how quickly a limb can become kind of useless if you don’t move it at all, and then how quickly it can recover if you’re lucky like I was). I just haven’t felt up to spending a lot of time on the computer. I do have a few pillow-cases worth of granny squares now, and an almost complete crocheted Azilal cardigan 🙂

Leave a Reply

