Aranami Shawl

10 Dec

Over the weekend I couldn’t work on Christmas projects, so I began a new project that randomly struck my eye on Ravelry. Now this shawlette is probably doomed to languish in the UFO bin.

It’s the Aranami shawl (Ravelry link) and it has taught me a lesson or two about my knitting preferences.

The pattern project is so pretty, and I was super stoked about choosing the yarn. I was reasonably satisfied with the gradient of Garnstudio Drops Alpacas I was able to find. I’m not a huge fan of alpaca yarns as a rule because I like things with less drape for most things I knit. But this is garter stitch, so not a great deal of stitch definition is needed. And it’s a shawl, so drape is okay. And most importantly Garnstudio has an Alpaca sale again. So hooray!

20131209_153554

I was worried about having so many white/light colors because I don’t care to wear white, but since the white would only be the tip of the shawl I figured it would be okay.

 This shawl is modular knitting in garter stitch. As I began to knit, what I learned about myself is this: I don’t like modular anything very much. Seams are always a potential place for issues, so for me, knitting a shawl entirely based on picking up stitches is just asking for trouble. The second thing is this: I also don’t like hiding ends in garter stitch. Guess what. There are a lot of ends to hide. Oops.

What I’ve knitted so far just looks messy, and nothing like the pattern project.

Buuut the yarn is cut up now and I can’t rip it back, so I might as well finish this at some point. Maybe a good blocking will do some magic on it. Who knows, maybe it really is just the light colors that are putting me off the whole thing, and I’ll like it more as I go along. At least each triangle knits up really fast.

20131209_153633

2 Responses to “Aranami Shawl”

  1. sally1137 December 10, 2013 at 16:18 #

    I finished a cowl the other day, and by the end of it, I was sick of knitting it and was disappointed in how it turned out. Too small, I thought. But it was at my sister’s request, so I gave it to her anyway and she loved it. My point: I think we see all the mistakes rather than how neat it looks.

    Here’s my cowl. http://knitinyoursleep.wordpress.com/2013/12/09/moebius-cowl/

    • bamboo#1 December 11, 2013 at 12:20 #

      You know, you’re right 🙂 I think it’s because we see the pattern pictures and how the project was supposed to turn out, and compare to that, but everyone else just sees something nice. Like your cowl, it looks great and I’m not surprised your sister liked it 🙂

Leave a Reply

