Surprise! yarn

28 Sep

Today, I got a ball of yarn the size of my head from my boyfriend.  See?

I didn’t know something like this existed. Hence the picture of me gazing lovingly into its eyes.

The yarn is Varpu from Novita, 200 g = 632 m, and contains acrylic, wool, polyester and mohair. The bf gets a lot of points for this. This was a total surprise, and I like surprises. Also, he chose this colorway, which I love, all by himself over two other options, which I don’t like all that much based on the pictures on Ravelry. Woohoo! I like that he enables my yarn addiction.

I might knit this bolero from Drops with it, but first I’m going to hug it a lot. Maybe I could keep it as a pet?

4 Responses to “Surprise! yarn”

  1. Auktuma Janus September 30, 2010 at 17:43 #

    hey, it’s me again. i hope i’m not annoying you yet 🙂 after we spoke some today of clothing styles, may i say something? (it’s a stupid question, because i’m saying it anyway 🙂 ) as i remember, in the list of your failed sweaters there was a short shrug. i’m afraid that your bolero can have the same destiny.. this bolero, as well as that shrug, is short and has bottom in the same shape: /\ . these lines are drawing attention to your waist, moreover, they are spreading outwards, that means: creating optical illusion of your waist (or hips – depends on how long is your bolero) being wider than they are in real. i think such type of clothing fits to very slim girls/women, because they make illusion of bigger bust, actually…, ..or taking attention away from narrow hips. i have similar body to yours, and i’ve discovered that best fitting (knitted) clothing for me is that has bold accents on neck, shoulders, chest – upper part of my body. for example, i really liked how your violet sweater looks on you (that one with deep lace neck.)
    it’s just my opinion, i hope i’m not disturbing. i got interested with such things not so long time ago and i guess because of that i’m speaking even if nobody asked me..

    • bamboo#1 September 30, 2010 at 19:41 #

      Heh, no problem 😀 I appreciate the input. Although I don’t necessarily agree with everything you said. My problem with the short shrug on the the list of failed projects is that the sleeves are so short and tight that (I think) they draw attention to my arms.

      I actually kind of like drawing attention to my waist because I consider it to be one of my strengths beauty-wise. But it’s very important that the lower edge of the shrug sits in exactly the right place at the waist, which is pretty difficult to achieve. From the back that shrug is perfect – from the front, not so much.

      I do agree that the mohair bolero I linked to in this post might not be the best thing for me, but mostly because the fabric knitted with mohair looks quite thick, and combined with the light colorway of the yarn, this might make my upper body appear bigger than it is. So yeah, I’m reconsidering using that pattern.

      • Auktuma Janus September 30, 2010 at 20:41 #

        hey i’m glad you don’t mind to discuss these 🙂 of course, you know your body better and have tried what fits you. it was also a surprise to me, when i realised that belts actually fit me. or shirt / t-shirt stuck inside of jeans or skirt. earlier i was avoiding these horizontal lines “cutting” my waist… hmm after your words i think i would try some “/\ -shaped” clothing in the shop, maybe it would fit? 🙂
        and yes, mohair is “furry” and may appear “big”. you know what i would do if i would have 200g yarn with mohair included? (again, just my idea) – i would knit something using thick sticks and lace pattern. i would get a light garmemnt, but still warm, because of this “furiness”.. and it is yarn-saving 🙂

        • bamboo#1 September 30, 2010 at 21:50 #

          Oh cool, that’s a good tip too (trying out how different shapes fit in the shop and then basing knitting decisions on that info). 🙂

          I agree, this sort of yarn works best with big needles 🙂 Yeah, I’m kind of undecided between knitting some sort of big shawl (just something warm and soft to wear around the house) or some sort of shrug. In any case I have a lot of projects currently on the needles so it’ll be a while before I have to make that decision. 🙂

Leave a comment